October 2017  
SMTWTFS
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
     
Upcoming Events
OCT

19

THU
OCT

20

FRI
OCT

21

SAT
Bible Search
About

 

Church Focus

Toms Brook United Methodist invites adults, youth and children to worship together in an atmosphere that offers a variety of musical styles. Music includes hymns, praise music, guitar, organ and piano, and a variety of musicians –a wonderful blend of the many talents we have amongst us.

 You may experience a variety of worship events, such as anointing services with prayers for healing, youth-led services, the sacrament of Communion provided in several ways and Missionary speakers.

 Missional outreach opportunities are provided for various age groups to reach out into our local community and beyond.

 We have a strong focus of ministering the Word of God to our youth, children, and the unsaved. We provide opportunities for fellowship, praise, Bible study, and putting into practice the basic precepts learned.

 

History of Toms Brook UMC

Our history has not only spanned over 137 years, but also three church buildings. We have shared a Methodist circuit with seven other Methodist congregations in the northern Shenandoah Valley. These brothers and sisters in ministry with us have included at some time or another: Strasburg, Mt. Olive, Mt. Carmel, Oak Level, Union Forge, Whites Chapel, and Waterlick.

The first Toms Brook UM church was organized in 1879 under pastorate of the Reverend Lafayette Fox with seven charter members. The first church was built on a hill top which today is part of the grounds behind the old Toms Brook School. By 1892, there were 82 members. One minister served Toms Brook, as well as Mt. Olive and Strasburg churches.

 The second church was erected on land that is now part of the parking lot of the present church. The land was purchased January 17, 1917 and the first church was torn down and moved across US Route 11. Reverend C.E. Brandt was pastor at that time. The cornerstone of the original church building became the cornerstone for the second church.

 On February 7, 1954 under the leadership of Reverend Stuart Johnson, a ground breaking service was held in preparation for the third Methodist church to be built. The new brick edifice was built on land adjoining the second church. There were approximately 174 members. On Sunday, May 22, 1955, the cornerstone laying was held. The cornerstone of the first and second churches was incorporated in the new building along with a new cornerstone of marble. This church has been remodeled and added on to over the years and still serves the congregation.

 

Contents © 2017 Toms Brook United Methodist Church | Church Website Provided by mychurchwebsite.net | Privacy Policy